top of page

The Price of Freedom

(Book 1 in The Acreage Series)

by Donna Every


Set in Barbados and Carolina in 1696, The Price of Freedom is the story of slavery and freedom, love and hatred, disgrace and redemption.


In 1670 a group of Barbadian Adventurers left Speightstown in Barbados and sailed to Carolina where they established Charles Town. Twenty-six years later, Richard Fairfax, son of one of the original settlers, leaves Carolina to visit his uncle's sugar plantation in Barbados, at a time when the island is at the peak of its wealth and influence and the planters live like gods, denying themselves nothing. Deborah, is a beautiful quadroon house slave, whose hunger for freedom makes her vulnerable to Richard who is captivated by her beauty and spirit. He holds the keys to her freedom, but will she be willing to pay the price? And will Richard be the one to find himself enslaved?

The Price of Freedom by Donna Every


bottom of page